Tags

, ,


head

Why did I buy it?

I didn’t have a bass amp and a friend was selling this rather battered amp and cab for a bargain!

How does it sound?

All the pots were really crackly however by using the EQ, the impressively good built-in compressor and balancing between the solid-state and valve (emulation) settings I got a pretty good bass tone, helped of course by the rather large enclosure. I use a music-man fretless bass and occasionally a “big muff” fuzz pedal which is quite a lot of fun (really good for benfold five type sounds). I also used it quite a lot with a Roland TD6k electronic drum kit which worked perfectly (and since it was old I didn’t worry too much about speaker damage!). A couple times I used the cab as an extension speaker for my Laney (reviewed below) to try and beef up the Laney’s sound, however this didn’t work ever so well.

cab

Keep or sell?

I sold this in the end only because I wasn’t doing a lot of gigging and it was a huge amp. Mind you I know the guy I sold it to so do borrow it back occasionally but only to use with the electronic drum kit as I have since bought a couple of other much smaller bass amps. You can’t get them any more which is a shame because I found this a really tough and reliable work horse that you didn’t need to be too precious about and which sounded pretty good as well.

